Ready for another adventure!!

Well, I certainly didn’t think I’d be putting this blog to use once again so soon, but I’m off on another adventure. I’d say this would be a once-in-a-lifetime event but I just can’t seem to get over the travel bug, so I’m not going to promise that… In fact I probably would have denied that I’d be back just two years later but here I am! This past spring in determining how I was going to spend my summer before starting medical school, I threw around a few ideas such as working at camp again teaching horseback riding lessons, going home, staying in Omaha, or traveling… Lets just say in the end it wasn’t too tough of a decision. Despite depleting my life savings, I knew the trip would be worth it as I know I’d look back in a few years and regret not taking the opportunity to do so when I had the chance. Further, many of you already likely know that I am an avid traveler and I love immersing myself in foreign cultures–in fact my count is up to about 45 or so countries on six continents… Antarctica, you’re next! So having a love for traveling and exploring might be a bit of an understatement… But anyways, when the reality came about that this would likely be the last time I could simply travel for many, many years (6-8) because of medical school and residency, my decision was made quite easily. Next summer I will have the opportunity to do medical mission work abroad and I have no doubt that that adventure will be incredible however it’s so different being involved in a project than simply traveling for the sake of traveling. So once the decision to travel was made, the next question was where to. Well for anyone who read my blog the previous time, it was quite evident that I fell in love with southern Africa–I had the opportunity to spend two months volunteering in Zambia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa before studying abroad at the University of Cape Town for another four months. The six months were hands-down the best of my life and I loved everything about the experience, especially Cape Town. In fact, I’ve been asked a few times if I’d ever consider moving there and if it was feasible, absolutely! But right now with pursuing a degree in medicine, it is just not realistic but we will see what the future brings. So, as I said, I loved Africa however Africa is enormous and I had only previously explored a bit of the southern tip… You can see where this is going… So Africa it was… But new places! I looked into overland trips (essentially you travel overland on a route with 20 or so other people on a truck) and found one that worked with my summer schedule. I graduated from college on May 18th and found an overland that leaves on May 22nd which means leaving May 19 for travel time. So the day after graduation, my apartment was all packed up as was I for the trip. I consider myself extremely blessed as I had just about the best college experience at Creighton and with that, the most incredible friends anyone could EVER ask for. We had a wonderful senior week prior to graduation and got to spend a lot of time together however that didn’t make saying goodbye any easier. Many of my friends are dispersing around the country for graduate programs, volunteer work, or jobs so leaving was definitely bittersweet. I am so excited for this adventure but it also marks the ending of a chapter of my life, one that was pretty incredible. I knew in looking for trips that I wanted to end up in Cape Town so I can see old friends, hike lion’s head, visit old biscuit mill and the many other things Cape Town has to offer. So I found a 55 day trip that begins in Nairobi and ends up in Johannesburg which allows me two weeks at the end to travel around Johannesburg before heading back to Cape Town and then home. School starts July 31st and I’ll arrive home on July 28 so it will be another quick turnaround… But worth it! With so much going on this past semester and especially these past weeks, I haven’t had time to extensively look at the itinerary but I know we’re planning on traveling through Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and South Africa… So stay updated for lots of stories, adventures, and pictures. So far, everything has been going well–I flew from Omaha to Chicago to London and arrived at Nairobi where I made my way to my hostel for the day. I got in at 6:30 this morning and met a few people who will be on my trip, all of which seem very friendly and adventurous! I’m excited for our departure tomorrow morning but I should probably get some sleep! I miss all of you at home already but I’ll be thinking about all of you and I’ll be home soon šŸ™‚
~Susan

20130521-213321.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

