A Fun-Filled Start to Finals… Is that Possible?

Four tests and a paper is all that stands between me and freedom for two entire months!  But I don’t want to rush the finals time too fast as exciting things have actually been happening the past few days… and it hasn’t been all study, study, study… in fact, there has been a lack of.  If you know me at all, you know that I take school, education, and grades pretty darn seriously… and I have aspirations that require me to do so to a certain extent.  Well, although these are still all important, I have taken a bit of a relaxed approach this semester and have adopted the mindset that you are only in South Africa once… which I hope proves to be wrong in the future but it is likely that I will never have an opportunity like this again.  So I have kept a healthy balance between a social life, exploring the city and everything Cape Town has to offer while still doing well in classes.  This relaxed approach something that is foreign to me at home but one that I have been enjoying here in South Africa.

I’ve had to come to terms with reality of leaving this incredible place so soon as we had had our final dinner on Friday.  I can’t believe that it has been more than 5 months since I have been at home and more than 3 months calling Cape Town my home.  We were treated to a fabulous dinner at a very classy restaurant on the Waterfront where we had a closing ceremony and one final hurrah with everyone.  For the most part, the night was very enjoyable… with a few sad parts thrown in of course.

The weekend was spent studying for the most part and preparing for the upcoming two weeks of exams.  To be honest, I don’t really know what to expect but I will fill you in on what all I experience!

Today we had our IES symposium in which every IES student had to give a presentation about their final project which consists of a very lengthy research paper.  We were given free rein to research whatever we found interesting within the topic of our class.  I based mine off of my fieldwork and volunteer experience with SHAWCO Health this semester and presented about the use of mobile health clinics to provide healthcare services.  I incorporated my unique volunteer experience, one that I never would have gotten at home, and the whole presentation went extremely smoothly… despite the three hours of sleep I got last night in preparation for it!

Tonight I attended a musical entitled “Offbeat Broadway 4”which essentially was a musical making fun of other musicals as they made renditions of their performances and such.  To say the least, it was incredibly funny and the performance was fabulous.  There were only three performers for the entire production but they captivated the audience for their entire two hour show.  I was shocked by how the three of them were able to sing the way in which they did for a straight two hours—wow!  The musical incorporated over fifty other musicals, some of which included: The Lion King, Mamma Mia, CATS, Chicago, Hairspray, Grease, West Side Story, Dreamgirls, Fiddler on the Roof, Beauty and the Beast, The Wizard of Oz, The Producers, Les Miserables, Wicked, and Rent… and that’s definitely not all of them!  For instance, they went on and on about Cats and fuzzy little performers were running around stage and how the musical just keeps getting weirder and weirder as it goes on but no one really knows the plotline and such… it was just pretty darn funny.  However, hands down, my favorite part of the performance was their five minute rendition of the Phantom of the Opera that included portions of all of the songs… it was spectacular and such a wonderful night!

Well, back to studying tomorrow as I have my first exam on Thursday!  I hope that you guys are enjoying life just as much as I am!

Miss you all,

Susan

My housemates and myself in front of our house before the final dinner

Alma kids… love them so much!

Jameson Hall with Table Mountain

My IES health class along with our teacher at the symposium

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

