A Few Slower Days in Cape Town

The past few days have been pretty laid back compared to Rocking the Daisies which allowed me to rest and catch up on sleep… something that was desperately needed!  School has been going well… I’ve had lots and lots of assignments due recently, most of which have been papers, as the semester is winding down.  Surprisingly, we only have one full week left of classes before finals begin… wow!  I am amazed by how fast this semester gone… but yet again, we have been in school since July so it all evens out!

I know that I have mentioned this before, but I am definitely out of practice in writing papers.  This semester has certainly been unusual compared to those at home that are so science focused and typically lab write ups are about the extent of my writing.  So, having writing assignments due basically once a week per class has definitely been an adjustment.  They are also incredibly anal about citations here.  Not only do we have to cite absolutely everything, even in a simple response paper that is a few hundred words long, we also have to include a cover page for absolutely everything that we turn in.  The cover page consists of everything—from name and date to tutorial group and tutor’s name to student number and title of the assignment.  We also have to include a signed plagiarism declaration on everything we turn in.  In fact, without it, we aren’t even allowed to turn in our assignment.  We also have to upload everything to Vula, the online website for UCT, in which they check for plagiarism.

Also, an unfortunate event happened over the weekend… my camera suddenly stopped working and died at Rocking the Daisies this past weekend.  It seems as if the problem lies within software issues but one can only guess at this point.  I wasn’t too worried as I literally got it a few months ago here in South Africa and there was a year warranty on it… right, shouldn’t be too much of an issue.  Well I was able to go to another branch of the store where I got the camera and explained the situation.  They said that it wouldn’t be a problem and that they would look at the issues and fix the problem whether it be getting new parts or replacing the camera… awesome, right?  Well, I proceeded to ask what kind of time frame we were looking at—they said not very long, only about two weeks… WHAT!  So I’m currently in a predicament as two weeks is a pretty long time without a camera… yet I obviously don’t want to buy yet another camera as my other one is still under warrantee… ugh just a bit of an unfortunate situation.  However, it just goes to show how different the perspective is of African time is vs. American time!  So I apologize for the lack of photos right now but I will have plenty more to upload very soon!

I have also successfully filled up three entire journals now over the course of five months.  One thing I promised myself is that I would keep an up-to-date journal while I was here of everything I have done.  I have done quite a bit of traveling and the thing I regret most about my past trips have been that I don’t remember a lot of the little things… well, I wasn’t going to let that happen this time!  I have a little over six months here in Africa which has been the most amazing life experience thus far… but I can almost guarantee that I will never have another experience like this.  So, I made it a goal to write everyday… and more than five months in, I have done so!  It is quite a commitment, especially with a blog as well, but I know that it is something I will greatly appreciate in the years to come!  So, definitely a personal accomplishment thus far for myself!

Anyways, I’m hoping to get this camera situation figured out asap but we’ll see!  I’m off to write some more papers and study a bit in preparation for finals!

Miss you all,

Susan

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

